Hello from Seattle

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

I’m very grateful to join this group, and look forward to meeting everyone and learning together next month.

I am the Director of Education for the Holocaust Center for Humanity in Seattle, Washington. Before joining the Center in 2019, I was a lawyer in the midwest for 15 years before changing careers to follow my heart by becoming a teacher. Thanks to an accelerated certification program created by Northwestern University, I obtained my teaching certificate and taught in Chicago for six years, Buffalo, NY for two years, and then in both eastern and western Washington. In my role, I work with educators statewide through the creation and adaptation of “best practices” lessons and curricula, providing professional development, overseeing our speakers bureau and other programs and resources, and I co-lead Holocaust study trips to Poland. I have also written, or co-written two Holocaust-related texts, The Yellow Star House: The Remarkable Story of One Boy’s Survival in a Protected House in Hungary, and a graphic novel, More Than Any Child Should Know: A Kindertransport Story of the Holocaust.

Although the work I do is extremely challenging for many reasons, it is the most rewarding – and necessary work of my life. It was my inner city Chicago students’ passion and engagement with lessons about the Holocaust that compelled me to learn more so that I could do the best job I could for them. I thank them to this day, because they helped define my “why” for my life, let alone teaching. This led me to become a USHMM Teacher Fellow, Alfred Lerner Teacher Fellow, acceptance to this amazing program, and much more. I feel great when someone asks what I do, and I get to explain to them I try to fight hatred and prejudice every day!