Hello from the cornfields of Ohio

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author

Hi everyone. My name is Misty Ebinger. I am a social studies teacher at New London High School, in New London, Ohio. NLHS is a small public school that graduates about 65 students each year and is literally surrounded by cornfields (my students want me to explain that sometimes it’s soybeans). I have been teaching for 21 years and have taught a Holocaust and Genocide Studies class for 10 years. I have had an interest in the Holocaust since reading “Night” in high school. My interest grew after attending a summer institute at Gratz College in Philadelphia in 2013 when I met a Holocaust survivor for the first time. Since then I have actively tried to learn as much as I can and share with as many people as possible.

I have been blessed to travel to Holocaust sites in Germany and Poland with the Holocaust and Jewish Resistance Teachers Program, and last summer I attended the Advanced Learning Seminar with Echoes and Reflections at Yad Vashem in Jerusalem. After returning from the TOLI seminar this summer, I will travel to Armenia as a teacher fellow with the Genocide Education Project. These experiences have been valuable as I become a more active member of Ohio’s Holocaust and Genocide Education Network.

I am also our school’s yearbook advisor and a track and field coach – spring is a very busy time! I live with my husband, Eric, and our boxer dog, Dulles (yes, named for President Eisenhower’s Secretary of State – that should tell you a bit about our hobbies). We love history, travel, reading, and running races for which we haven’t properly trained. I am very excited to meet and learn from everyone. I am particularly interested in expanding my knowledge of immigration and human rights issues and incorporating them in my classroom.