Greetings from Southern California!

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Greetings from Temecula, California (southern CA, about an hour from San Diego). My name is Lisa Balka, and I am beyond honored to work alongside each one of you throughout the upcoming year. I have been living in California since 2001, but I am originally from Indiana, and I will always consider myself a Midwestern girl. I am very blessed with my family of five. I married my high school sweetheart, and we will be celebrating our 32nd anniversary this July. We have a 26 year old daughter who is a nurse in Long Beach, a 24 year old daughter who is a technology sales rep in Chicago, and fortunately, a 14 year old is in 9th grade. So grateful to still have one at home to keep us young!

I have been a middle/high school teacher for 21 years. I work at a high school of 3,200 students where I teach IB English, 10th Grade English, and a leadership course. I have incorporated Holocaust education into every one of my courses. In fact, I had originally been teaching Pre-AP 9 since we had opened the school in 2004, but last year I switched to regular 10 when the district moved Elie Wiesel’s Night into the 10th grade curriculum. My passion for Holocaust studies initiated early in my career, and I continue to dedicate myself to growing my expertise and bringing my knowledge into the classroom. I was most excited to recently gain board approval on a new text for our IB curriculum titled, Auschwitz and After, allowing me to now include Holocaust education in my 11th grade classes where the IB focus is global issues.