I think I am Margaret – reflections on “On Austrian Soil”

Forums 2023 Summer Seminar On Austrian Soil 2023 Summer Seminar Responses: due MAY 30 I think I am Margaret – reflections on “On Austrian Soil”

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author

This is my first time reading anything like “On Austrian Soil”. As a historian, I have tended to focus on historical (cultural, social) approaches to the Holocaust and am only now turning more to the pedagogy and experiences teaching about the Holocaust. It was an honest account that drew back the curtain of who we are as professional educators to reveal the very personal, human experiences behind the title of “professor”. Steeped in a field that tends to believe itself to be objective – and operating in a school community where teachers are more or less required to be 100% neutral so as not to challenge or offend – I appreciated Perl’s unabashedly subjective reckoning of her journey with teaching, Austria(ns), Judaism, writing, and the Holocaust.

Although “silence” plays a major theme in “On Austrian Soil”, national histories (Poland, Austria, Hungary), and other memoirs written by second generation authors (Maus, After Long Silence), I was most struck by, and relate to, Margaret’s refusal to be silent. Her willingness to confront and struggle with Austria’s relationship to and responsibility for the Holocaust, compounded with her frustration that her peers and in-laws were unwilling to so, felt deeply familiar.