Becoming a Holocaust Educator – a rural perspective

Viewing 0 reply threads
  • Author

I was drawn to the chapters in “Becoming a Holocaust Educator” that were written by teachers in rural districts, similar to mine. I had a brief, but victorious, battle with book censorship this school year. The administration supported my decision to include “Maus” in my Holocaust and Genocide Studies class, despite an objection from a very vocal school board member (who, after admitting he hadn’t read the book, gave up the fight). I was saddened reading Risha Allen’s chapter, because she had created something really beautiful in her school only to have it ripped away by a handful of parents.

Corey Harbaugh’s chapter also spoke to me. He used a statistic that struck me: 60% of Holocaust education occurs in an English, not history, class (p. 55). I am a history teacher and I am sure that means I approach Holocaust education differently than an English teacher. I know it does as I have participated in other professional development opportunities and in reading the books required for TOLI. I have always subscribed to the notion that fiction has no place in Holocaust education. I was first told that by a G2 who was our guide to Holocaust sites in Europe in 2015 on teacher study tour, and continually reinforced in other PDs. I was glad to read Corey’s thoughts about “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas.” I struggled unsuccessfully for years to convince our 8th grade ELA teacher to not use the film. I had to “un-teach” much of what the film taught my students.